Mobile messaging service provider WhatsApp has scrapped its May 15 deadline for the users to accept its privacy policy update and announced that users won’t lose any functionality if they fail to accept its new privacy policy by May 15.

Earlier, the company had said that the users need to accept the new privacy policy to continue using the app however, it later informed what no accounts will be deleted if the users don’t accept the policy but the functionality may be limited. 

ALSO READ | WhatsApp Scraps May 15 Deadline For Accepting New Privacy Policy, Spokesperson Says ‘No Accounts Will Be Deleted’

Whar Are The Limited Functionalities?

According to reports, if users do not accept the policy, the pop up message on screen asking users to accept the policy will start appearing permanently on the screen whenever user opens the messaging app. 

According to a statement quoted by The Guardian, the company spokesperson said that users won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications. WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.

The spokesperson further said: “As a reminder, this update does not impact the privacy of personal messages for anyone. Our goal is to provide information about new options we are building that people will have, to message a business on WhatsApp, in the future.”

The users were initially given time till February 8 to agree to the new terms in order to continue using the platform but the deadline was later postponed to May 15.

ALSO READ | Pre-Registeration For Battlegrounds Mobile India To Begin On THIS Date; Check Official Details Here



Source link