Tinder Block Contacts feature: The company has recently rolled out a nifty new feature on its dating platform that can save users from some truly embarrassing moments. This new feature enables Tinder users to block a contact on the dating site using a user’s phone contacts.

In a recent survey, Tinder found out that over 40% of respondents have come across an ex-partner on a dating app. In the survey, the company also found out that 24% of the respondents have seen a family member or a colleague or even their professor’s profile on a dating app. 78% of the respondents said that they would prefer not to see or be seen by these connections on an app.

To solve this problem, Tinder has rolled out a new Block Contacts feature on its platform. This feature, as the name suggests, gives Tinder users more control over their experience. It enables them to block people — friends, exes, family members or colleagues — whom they don’t want to see in their profiles from popping up in their profiles. It also ensures that these people don’t see their profiles either.

More From This Section

One good thing about this Tinder feature is that blocked contacts won’t know if they have been blocked. It also doesn’t affect a user’s existing matches or messages. Also, Tinder says that blocking someone doesn’t mean they already have a Tinder account.

Furthermore, Tinder says that its Block Contact feature is an opt-in feature for which the dating app uses a user’s contact list. “Each time you visit Block Contacts, we’ll pull your list of contacts from your device so that you can pick who you would like to block. When you leave the feature, we’ll only keep the contact information for the people you have blocked (name, email and/or phone number),” Tinder wrote on a support page. 

How to block a contact on Tinder:

If you want to block a contact on Tinder, here’s what you need to do:

Step 1: Open your Tinder profile and tap the profile icon.

Step 2: Now, go to the “Settings” menu.

Step 3: Next, tap on scroll down and select the “Block Contacts” option.

Step 4: Tap on Grant Tinder permission to access your contacts option.

Step 5: Under the Contacts tab, select people you want to avoid from your contact list.

Step 6: Tap on the Tinder Block Contacts button and you are good to go!



Source link